Original electronic and improvised music from The Netherlands

Léon Spek – A Record

1 comment

Leon Spek - A Record

“A Record” is a collection of older acousmatic compositions by Léon Spek. Most of them were made during his time at the Institute of Sonology (The Hague, NL).

The sounding materials for both LEGO Drones pieces and Quanta were recorded in the voltage controlled analogue studio of the Institute of Sonology.

Both LEGO Drones pieces were made using a collection of control shapes to control several processes in the analogue studio.

Quanta was originally a quadrophonic piece, for this release a stereo mixdown was created.

The composition was sturctured using a 5 x 5 matrix from which sounds were taken roughly according to electron distribution probabilities from a hydrogen atom.

The sounds in the matrix were created from single starting layer that was processed 4 times to fill the 5 x 5 matrix.

Tokamak was created with sampled sounds from Léon Spek’s circuit bended instrument. The samples were treated with SuperCollider and manually edited in time to form the piece.

Local Overdensity is a little semi-algorithmic piece running from SuperCollider code. It uses synthesized sound next to some processed “Ferrofoon” samples.

See www.leonspek.nl for some pictures and info on the circuit bended instruments as well as Ferrofoon.

Léon Spek – A Record

1.  LEGO Drones [flac / mp3]
2.  Tokamak [flac / mp3]
3.  Local Overdensity [flac / mp3]
4.  LEGO Drones 2.1 [flac / mp3]
5.  Quanta [flac / mp3]

Link to big jpg of the cover.